Howard County Board of Board of Adjustment January 17, 2024 AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Old Business
- 4. Administrator/Board Comments
- 5. Reorganization

MINUTES

HOWARD COUNTY BOARD OF ADJUSTMENTS January 17, 2024

A meeting of the Howard County Board of Adjustments was convened in open and public session on the 17th day of January 2024 in the Assembly room of the Howard County Courthouse, St. Paul, Nebraska.

Chairman Janet Thomsen called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The Open Meeting Act is posted in the rear of the room. Administrator Klinginsmith read the notice of meeting. A proof of publication is filed in the Howard County Clerk's Office.

Roll call showed 5 members present: Terry Spilinek, Janet Thomsen, Dave Boehle, Mike Nelson, Chad Donscheski and Glen Killion. Also, present was Cherri Klinginsmith, Howard County Zoning Administrator and Jennifer Ostendorf, Planning & Zoning Secretary.

The agenda and minutes were emailed to the Board of Adjustment members prior to the meeting. A motion was made by Glen Killion and seconded by Dave Boehle to approve the minutes of the September 20, 2023 meeting. The motion carried by 6-0 roll call vote.

Administrator Comments:

The Annual NPZA (Nebraska Planning Zoning Association) Conference meeting will be March 6-8, 2024 in Kearney. She will be emailing them a link to the schedule so that the board can look it over and attend if they would like. The cost of the conference is covered by the Planning & Zoning Office, just let Cherri know if interested in attending.

Administrator Klinginsmith also informed the board that the Comprehensive Plan will need to be re-done so she has reached out to Marvin Planning Consultants in David City. Klinginsmith also explained that the cost will be around \$50,000 so she will be looking in to the use of ARPA (American Rescue Plan Act) Funds.

Election of officers was discussed. Mike Nelson made a motion to leave all officers in positions they are currently. Janet Thomson – Chairman Glen Killion – Vice Chairman – Mike Nelson – Secretary Chad Donscheski - Alternate. Terry Spilinek seconded the motion. Motion was carried by a 6-0 roll call vote.

Administrator informed the board that the County Commissioners appointed the following members at their January 9th meeting. Members re-appointed for another term (3 years) were Chad Donscheski, Dave Boehle, and Janet Thomsen.

With no further business Dave Boehle moved to adjourn the meeting with Glen Killion seconding the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Jennifer Ostendorf Planning & Zoning Secretary